2.2 Comparative Education:Can you analyze the major characteristics of Nigerian education system?


2.2 Identify the major characteristics of Nigerian education system

Administration and Organization of Education System

The current administrative system is divided into the Federal Capital Territory and 36 states. The management of education in Nigeria is based on this federal system, so that while basic educational policy regarding structure, curriculum and school year is centrally determined, some powers over educational delivery are devolved to state and local government. In effect, education is administered by three branches of government: primary education is under the control of local governments, secondary schools fall under the jurisdiction of the state government except the unity schools that are administered by the federal governments. Both the federal and state government administers higher education.

The Federal Ministry of Education owns and runs twenty-five universities, thirteen polytechnics, fifteen technical colleges, twenty colleges of education and sixty-six secondary schools. The remaining  tertiary  institutions  are  owned  and  funded  by  state  governments,  while  other secondary schools are owned and funded by state governments, communities and private organizations.  The  administration  and  management  of  state  government-owned  secondary schools falls under the remit of state Ministries of Education. The administration of public primary schools falls under the local education authorities.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s